week #1: back in the scheme of things

Unfortunately, Thanksgiving break has ended, and school has started up again, and things are as normal as they usually are.  My break was pleasant, my cousin visited from college and we did fun things (black friday shopping and saw Mockingjay pt. 1), but teachers were merciless and there was plenty to do. That being said, I ended up doing nearly all of it the last Sunday, which was not enjoyable at all (10/10 would not reccommend- but I’ll probably do it again sometime).

I had my first Red Cup of the season (I believe it was a Peppermint Mocha), and that was fun and iconic and all. I enjoy Starbucks, but I’d prefer a independently owned coffeeshop, of which there are absolutely none in my mid-western suburb. I’ve forced myself into developing a taste for drip coffee because nicer coffee can get rather expensive!
I’ve been listening to George Ezra for the better part of this week, I think I first heard him on an 8tracks playlist by Amy Norris, whose blog I absolutely adore, she’s fabulous. His sound is very indie folk and resonant. I heard him being described as an English ‘Ezra Koenig’ and that seems pretty accurate to me. My favorite from him is ‘Budapest’ (which seems to be pretty popular). If you’re studying, it pairs really well with rainymood or coffitivity.
Another thing I’ve been into lately is Saint Laurent’s Fall/Winter Ready-to-Wear 2014 Collection. I know that nobody’s talking about it anymore, but I only just had a chance to take a good look at it, and I kind of adore it. My favorite style is probably the one below, look 6, because I love a good two piece skirt/shirt ensemble, let’s be real. I’m loving the pinstripes, and I kind of want a subtle pinstriped blazer? I also really like the academia touch, with the collared shirt and bow. I didn’t think I’d like the sparkly shoe, but I am really obsessed with the style now, and I’m looking for cheaper alternatives everywhere!
It’s December, and I find that really strange, because this year has been an absolute blur. However, I do enjoy these colder months and I have a pretty strong love for the holiday season, so I’m not going to be too dreary and reminiscent.  Over the weekend, my family and I put our outside lights up, so I decided to put my iPhone photography skills to the test. I’m actually pretty pleased (and slightly addicted to the bokeh effect).
The next couple of weeks will be difficult, because of the abundance of last minute testing (before preparation for midterm exams), impatience for the holidays, and a lack of motivation. I’ll get through it though, because that’s the only way out. ❤
                                    Best wishes,
Leave a comment

Filed under weekly posts

Leave a Reply

